top of page
Search
  • Sydney Park

Welcome to the Miss 5B Blog

Updated: May 3, 2021


Maybe it's just because I like to type a lot, or maybe it's because I want to keep you updated on Miss New York preparation and the competition, but I started a blog. Welcome! I'll be using this space to share my experience of being a titleholder and to showcase a little bit of what goes on behind the scenes.


Over the course of the next month, I'll be sharing more information on the preparation that goes on behind the scenes, as well as any little funny stories that happen along the way.

During the competition, I'll do my best to post updates from the day and any results that might be of interest.


This past year (and change) has affected all of us in different ways. I never thought that I would have to think about "masks" as part of my wardrobe budget. But here we are! Preparing for this year's competition has been an interesting and challenging experience. Learning to re-adapt my social impact initiative to a virtual world was definitely an interesting pivot that included holding weekly check-in calls with my team and sending out videos from my living room demonstrating different skills the girls could practice from home. But despite its challenges, this year was also filled with some unexpected opportunities and growth. I started working with Up2Us Sports on a variety of projects and was even invited to speak on a panel for National Girls and Women in Sports Day. I had the chance to discuss my SII with the community development team at the Women's Sports Foundation. I even had the opportunity to work with the incredible folks at City in the Community, the non-profit arm of the NYCFC. So while 2020 did not go exactly according to the game plan, if there is one thing that I have learned as a coach, it's how to change up the game plan on the fly and still find a way to succeed.


Of course, I cannot discuss 2020 without acknowledging the eye-opening events that have led many of us to examine our privilege and our compliance with systemic racism in the wake of the murders of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery, Elijah McClain, Rayshard Brooks, Tony McDade, David McAtee, and far too many more. In these past few months, the Asian American Pacific Islander community has experienced a spike in violent attacks. As a half-Korean woman, I cannot help but contemplate my own fear for the safety of my dad and grandparents in response to these senseless acts of violence. As we contemplate the events of 2020 and consider how we chart a path forward, we must all commit to doing our part to dismantle systemic racism, in its place, foster justice and promote equity.


As we get closer to check-in for Miss New York, I am filled with gratitude. I am grateful for everyone who has supported me thus far and has continued to believe in me. I am grateful for every person who has asked how they can support me and for every text, call, and kind message. I would not be who I am without my support network.






14 views0 comments
bottom of page